Grid / Snap Issues and no written or indexed support documents

Author
Rolando
Supreme Being (1.4K reputation)Supreme Being (1.4K reputation)Supreme Being (1.4K reputation)Supreme Being (1.4K reputation)Supreme Being (1.4K reputation)Supreme Being (1.4K reputation)Supreme Being (1.4K reputation)Supreme Being (1.4K reputation)Supreme Being (1.4K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Through support emails I was advised to post technical support question to this user forum. In my previous emails I was informed that there are no "written help files", thus there is no index either. Although I am experienced in ACAD and Corel Designer, I am just starting out with SD and when I try to extrapolate from my experience to SD, I find that there is usually no correspondence. One case in point would be that after having been advised that my "cables" were not "rubber banding" becuase they were not drawn all the way up to the blue highlight that confirms the connection point being made, I then proceeded with my drawing and immediately found further issues that I needed to reference but had no way of consulting an index to address the issues. For example:

1. Grid & Snap:

a.   How do I lock the drawing to the grid, so that my symbol stubs or better yet my connection points are always aligned with the grid.

b.   I find that my cables will tend to go out of orthogonal angle when I snap them into place, I suppose that this is most probably due to the alignment of the grid and that they are snapping to the "Blue Connection Point", which I have not been able to sync with the grid, but if I were able to achieve re-aligning my symbols to the grid, I assumed that selecting "Orthogonal Lock" would permit me to freely click the "Cables" in place with out any skew, but upon selecting it, the "Cable Tool" grayed out.